Champagne and
Aishihik First Nations

The Shadhäla, Äshèyi yè kwädän (Champagne and Aishihik First Nations or CAFN) is a self-governing First Nation located in the Yukon Territory and northwest British Columbia, Canada.


The Shadhäla, Äshèyi yè kwädän (CAFN) homeland is a land of kwata (forests), dhal (mountains), taga (rivers), man (lakes) and tan shį (glaciers), with spectacular scenery and diverse resources and cultural riches. The land has offered mbat (food), ur (clothing) and kų (house, shelter) to CAFN ancestors for many generations.


The Champagne and Aishihik people and government are named after two historic settlements: Shadhäla (Champagne), located on the Dezadeash River; and Äshèyi (Aishihik), at the headwaters of the Alsek River drainage.  Champagne and Aishihik Dän (people) also lived throughout the region in other villages including Kloo Lake, Klukshu, Canyon, Shäwshe and Hutchi.


CAFN has more than 1,200 Dän (people) and is one of the largest of the 14 Yukon First Nations.  The CAFN Traditional Territory spans 41,000 square kilometers in total (29,000 in the Yukon and 12,000 in British Columbia). The eastern edge of CAFN’s Traditional Territory lies in the Yukon River watershed, while the larger, westerly portion lies in the Alsek River watershed which flows into the Gulf of Alaska. Much of Kluane National Park and Reserve and all of Tatshenshini-Alsek Park (BC) are part of CAFN’s Traditional Territory.


Today, the CAFN’s main government offices are located in Haines Junction, in addition to a busy office in the territorial capital of Whitehorse. (Source)


More information:






Final Agreement:


Self-Government Agreement: